• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,606 hits
  • Post Days

    November 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

NaNoWriMo and Priorities

(Re-blogged from Instagram)

I’ve barely written 3,000 words so far in my casual NaNoWriMo. My goal was 1k a day, but the only day that actually happened was day number one. This NaNoWriMo was about getting back into writing everyday, about taking steps to finishing another novel, something I haven’t done on about five years. I knew it would be hard with a five month old who’s teething, I just didn’t anticipate how hard.

12187979_1100126060011983_7020679583643774366_o


Most of last week instead of writing I just went to bed because I was exhausted from being up half the night with an upset baby. Or I read or played a bit of Destiny because I just needed to unwind and relax. (Or did dishes and/or laundry because baby was finally asleep and I could put her down.) Even though I haven’t been able to keep up with my goal, the silver lining is I started. The beginning is written, there are words on paper. Right now my priorities lie with taking care of my baby. I don’t know how much I’ll be able to write in the next couple of weeks, but even if I don’t write another word I’m still coming out ahead.

Someday, when baby teeth are in and nights are once more filled with sleep, I’ll be able to focus more on writing. Until then I need to be okay with my novel being on a back burner.

To all you parent WriMos out there (or just anyone) who are having trouble keeping up because other things keep taking priority, relax, it’s okay. Not hitting the 50k doesn’t make you a loser. Conquering that blank page, no matter the word count, is a victory that puts you in the winner’s circle.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

