• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,680 hits
  • Post Days

    March 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Food and Writing

WP_20150303_001

A little piece of trivia you probably don’t know about me, I love to cook, and more specifically, I love to experiment with food.  I like to consider myself a hobbyist foodie.  (Foodie by hobby?)   If there is a recipe out there that everyone says is the best, I see it as a challenge to make it better, or just make it my own.

My most recent kitchen challenge has been grain free, sugar free cooking.  Grain free, sugar free living has transformed a lot of lives – one of them being my mother-in-law’s – by changing their health.  One of my baby-prepping goals is to experiment with recipes to replace my favorite grain and sugar loaded foods.  I want my children to grow up with better food choices and a different attitude when it comes to “real” food. It’s a real feel good moment when you find an alternative recipe for things like pancakes or chocolate chip cookies that you make yourself.  It’s like a little personal victory, one with spoils.

So what does food and cooking have to do with writing?  Believe it or not, a lot.  Both take the basic know-how of what you are doing and creativity.  Both can be over done and boring, or original and exciting.  They both take time, patience, practice and even some editing.  With alternative cooking, we are taking something everyone knows and changing it to make it better and surprise people with the results.  In writing, we want to take our favorite genre and turn it into something new with surprises around every corner.  Also, perhaps, we want to leave a better literary option for the next generation.

Cooking is an activity that inspires me.  When I’m stuck in writing, I turn to the kitchen.  Writing makes me want to cook, and cooking makes me want to write.  They both challenge my skills and my creativity.  Like in writing, when I play with a new recipe, I want it to be original, something I can be proud of and something other people will enjoy.  But sometimes I doesn’t turn out the way I want it too.  Sometimes it doesn’t work the first time and I have to go back, change a few things and start again.  Sometimes I think it could be better, improved with this spice or that.  Even though my husband has gone back for thirds, I’m still not satisfied.

It’s the same in writing.  We want to be original, not cliche.  We want to be proud of what we’ve done.  We want readers to be hooked and fall in love with our characters.  But there are those times when it just doesn’t work.  You can’t find the write ingredient to fill that plot whole and it’s just a big non-cohesive mess.  But then there are the times when it is where it needs to be.  Others enjoy it, it works, but we want perfection and to us, it is still lacking.  As writers we need to give ourselves permission to experiment, to write badly and not care.  We need to learn to step back, put aside that critical inner editor and leave things be.  That recipe is fine the way it is, could it be better? Probably, but to change it any further would ruin what it was meant to be in the first place.

So get in the kitchen, roll your sleeves up, make a mess, have fun and see what happens.

______________________________________________________________________________________

If you’re interesting in my food experimentation, follow me on Instagram!

A sneak peak at some of my creations.

Coconut flour breakfast crepe.

Coconut flour breakfast crepe.

Almond meal/coconut flour chocolate chip cookies!

Almond meal/coconut flour chocolate chip cookies!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

