• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,773 hits
  • Post Days

    February 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    2425262728  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

When Plans are Interrupted

I had planned to write a page a day of one or both of my current stories.  I had planned to pump out a chapter a week, but, writing is an unpredictable craft and sometimes, what you plan on writing just doesn’t work out.

The first chapters of both my stories (the rewrite and the rough draft) were going very well.  I was excited, enthusiastic, but things took a turn.

Plot holes.

Gaps.

Unanswered “why’s” connecting “what’s”.

I’ve learned from past experience, it’s not a good a idea for me to continue in a story with sketchy filler just to get from point A to point B.  The rewriting and editing becomes an extremely painful headache when I do and it takes forever to figure out.  So now when that happens, I have to stop, answer those questions, figure out the probabilities, fill in the gaps, follow a logical plot path, and then move on.

I have reach this point with BOTH my stories.

Heart of Hope is a mess, and that’s putting it lightly.  It was my first book and I used every DO NOT and cliche in existence.  There are a lot of holes.  The plot looks like Swiss cheese.  It’s come a long way, but I still have several unanswered questions and events that don’t quite make sense.  So it’s back to the drawing board.

My second (or fourth book…) book (WIP title Wren Fletcher), I’m beginning to think I rushed into writing it too soon.  Again, plot holes, gaps, more messes I don’t want to fix in editing.

This can be beyond frustrating, not to mention discouraging.  But it happens, and I’m trying to reconcile myself to it.  I’m still learning as a writer.  I’m still learning how I write, what works for me and what doesn’t.  It’s a long and hard process.  (I’m beginning to wonder if I will ever have a book to set before a publisher…)

So, what am I going to do about it?  I’m going to keep filling up pages of my notebook with plot hole fillings, outlines, and “what happens next” notes.  I am also going to lose myself in a new fantasy trilogy* (well, new to me) that my husband highly recommended I read.  (He told me it’s very inspiring, here’s hoping it will pull an idea out.)

Even though I really just want to have a publishable book done, this experience has not been without it’s lessons.  It’s shown me my weaknesses in development, what I need to focus more on before I start writing a rough draft.  I’ve learned what doesn’t work for me.  It’s proven my tendency to be scatter brained and not think something through in enough detail.   I am not a seat of pants writer, I need to have all the important details mapped out before I start writing.

It’s long, tedious, and at times I feel like tossing the pages to the wind, but I know all this will pay off in the end.  All I can do is keep writing.   

What projects are you working on that feel like they’re never going to be finished?  What have they taught you?  Any lessons of your own to share?

 

*If you really want to know it’s the Obsidian Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Heid

     /  February 26, 2014

    I know exactly what you mean by rushing into the writing process. I did that with my third book The Wind of Midnight. I plotted it in a month. :\ It was still so messed up after the second draft, that I put it aside.

    Right now I am focusing on a fantasy trilogy. This time I gave myself time, and plotted for about four months. I can definitely seen a difference! 🙂
    This post really encouraged me. Sometimes I feel like the published writers never have any trouble (I know, I know), and it helps to know that all writers, not just inexperienced ones, have it. 🙂

    ~Heidi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

