• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,987 hits
  • Post Days

    November 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

How NOT to NaNo: Purple Monkeys

Silly free-writes are a great way to get yourself going again when you’re stuck and just not feeling it.  However, when a large chunk of your NaNo novel is nothing but nonsensical silliness and horrifying bizarre randomness, you might want to do one of two things.  1: Just stop what you’re doing, backspace as far as necessary and open a new word doc to let that weirdness flow or… 2: Just don’t.  I’m all for having fun and being crazy in writing, especially to get one’s self out of a bade case of writer’s block, but I wouldn’t suggest writing your novel like this.

Many of you who know me have heard about the purple monkeys and watermelons, now you will get to read about them (with more character ramblings). I will admit, this was a blast to pen, but it killed my NaNo novel and taught me, I’m not a write (seriously anyway) by the seat of your pants under presser kind of writer.

So, here you go.

Enter with care.

The bell tolled again and again and again and again and again and again and again, a dreaded, death heralding ring. (Good grief how many times were they going to ring that bell? Were they just ringing it now for effect or were they just trying to scare me? Why do we even ring bells? I decided right then and then that I did not like bells at all in the slightest. They are very load awful doom being things, I should find myself a town without any bells, yes, that would be quite nice, quite nice and quiet, I mean come on, who wants bells ringing whenever something bad or good or remotely interesting them to sheriff or whoever has the bells ring, ringing, really, they should not have bells at all, not at all, no, nope, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, bells, have I made myself quite clear and the matter about bells yet? Hope really hope I have and that you will take them seriously. Oh for the love of bells and for the love of rambling on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and and about them. Yes indeed.)

Much, please get back here very soon. What are you doing? I thought as I tried to press myself even flatter against the wall, as if that would do me much good anyway. As soon as anyone came around that corner they would see me and I would be a fish in a barrel.

{Suddenly Much came screaming around the corner with a herd of purple monkeys running behind him hurling watermelons at his head! Now I had never seen monkeys, let alone watermelons, so how I even knew what these things are is a mystery to me. When the monkeys saw me they began throwing the watermelons at me too! One very big juicy fruit went SQUASH right beside me head. I ducked the next one, but a third watermelon hit me right in the gut. I doubled over in pain and this caused an eruption of what sounded like cruel laughter from the band of purple monkeys. Where in the world were they getting the watermelons anyway! I was sure the noise of the fighting and creaming monkeys would bring the guards down on our heads, in fact I was sure of it.

Much!” I cried over the noise and laughter of the purple monkeys. “We need to get out of here! Right now! Right this very instant!”

I couldn’t agree more with you!” Much called from where he was laying on the ground all curled up in a little ball with his hands over his head protecting it from the hard and sticky missiles the purple monkeys were throwing at him.

How do you suggest we do that?” He asked, still in his protective position.

I wish I knew!” I looked around, while still trying to block the flying watermelons. The watermelons! That might work, it was the only thing we had to fight them with. I picked up a piece of a shattered watermelon that they purple monkeys had thrown at me and chucked it as hard as I could at the biggest purple monkey that I took to be the leader of the purple monkey watermelon throwing band. The piece hit the big purple monkey leader right on the nose, or where I thought its nose should be at least. To my great surprise and astonishment, the big purple monkey leader just dropped the watermelon it was about to throw at me and paused, and then started crying! All the other purple monkeys dropped their watermelons too and they also started crying and hitting each other with the watermelons in stead of us! This produced a great wailing and then suddenly they all turned around and ran away, carrying off all their watermelons and purple monkey randomness.

Well,” Much said as he stood and brushed pieces of watermelon off his shoulders. “That was weird.”

Welcome to a Nation Novel Writing Month Novel,” Stephen said crossing his arms and glaring at the writing from the page.

I don’t think I like it,” Much said scratching his head.

Neither do I,” Stephen stated with yet another glare.

But I guess there are worse things,” Much said with a shrug. “I mean, purple monkeys and watermelons, really…” he thought for a moment. “No, they’re just weird aren’t they?”

Yes, very weird, time to get back to the story at hand please.”}

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

