• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,674 hits
  • Post Days

    December 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Farewell Dreams

Dreams.  We all have them and we all tend to cling to them as if they are our only life source.  I know I did.

Dreams are wonderful.  That fanciful daydream, longing, secret wish or hopeful thought, stirring in us an indescribable, uncomprehending desire to act on them and make them more than dreams, but realities.  Dreams such as…

Dreams of being successful.

Dreams of finding love, marrying.

Dreams of a family.

Dreams of being more.

Dreams of achieving all your higher goals.

And so many others.

Any of those dreams sound familiar?  Do they prick a cord in your heart, stirring up that same wishful fantasy they stir in mine?

Dreams are so precious aren’t they?  They’re apart of us, woven into who we are and every fiber of our being.  That’s why it’s so hard to let them go.  Yes, let them go.

2012 is drawing to a close, and as 2013 approaches, I think back over the past year and everything God has brought me through.  He has revealed so much to me over the past twelve months, taught me so much.  He has shown me how to be His hero, not just how to write about them, but how to be one.  He’s taught me a deeper meaning of love, how it endures, holds fast, never gives up and never lets go.  And, how to let go of my dreams.  The last was the hardest lesson to lean, one that brought many long nights and tear-filled prayers.

I’ve known for a long time God was calling me to relinquish my dreams to Him.  I thought I had, but no, I was still holding tight to them, my knuckles turning white with the strain.  It was tormenting.  Yes, tormenting.  Some of you reading this will understand, and really, this post is for you.  My dreams were beautiful, shaped through out the years of my life, from my child’s mind to now, and God wanted them.

This year was more of a struggle for me regarding letting my dreams go than any other year before, and yet, it was so wonderful at the same time.  The way God began revealing Himself to me, pulling my heart ever closer to His.  It hurt, it was hard, but it was beautiful.

It seems so many times, we pray and ask God to change us, to take control of every aspect of our lives, but we really don’t know what we’re asking for.  Complete and utter surrender, of, EVERYTHING.  Dreams included.  It’s funny, when we surrender our lives, we list things like money, job, school, family, heath, choices etc, things we can see, feel and touch, but we don’t consider our dreams as part of that list.  Yet, the reality is, our dreams are something God desires above the physical.  Why?  Because He has dreams for us too, and when we let ours go, He can give us His.  When we say goodbye to our dreams, we say hello to the wonderful things God has in store.

I never imagined it would turn out like this.  Never in my wildest dreams.  When I thought of letting my dream go, I thought I was giving them up.  In a way I was, I was emotionally giving up what I desired because I wanted God’s best, and if my dreams were getting in the way of that, then they were something I needed to sacrifice.  So, one night, I tearfully, even reluctantly, brought those dreams to the alter, laid them there, and let them go.  I asked God to make His dreams my dreams, and I gave Him the desires of my heart.   It was the hardest thing I have ever done, but I did it.

Did I feel relieved after?  Yes and no.   Yes, because I knew God would take care of those dreams, and do what was best for me and those dreams.  He was in control now.  No, because my human mind could not comprehend what I had just done.  I had let everything go, I had let my chance at those dreams go…but had I really?  A few weeks after that night, an amazing thing happened.  God have those dreams back to me, and it was wonderful.  (Eventually, I will tell you about those dreams, when the time is right.)

No one knows the desires of our hearts better than our Father in Heaven, and no one wishes to grant them more than He does.  I think too often we let what we want, what we want to hold on to get in the way of that.  We have to completely surrender those desires to Him before He can give them to us.  We have to be willing to let Him have our lives in their entirety if we want the blessings He has in store for those who trust in Him.

From someone who has hurt, struggled, bleed, and cried herself to sleep holding on to her dreams for dear life, because she thought if she let them go, she would lose them forever, let me tell you, God is wonderful.  He will not take your dreams and cast them aside after you place them into His hands.  Rather, He will lovingly take them, and create a more beautiful reality with them, then you could ever imagine.

Dreamer, don’t give up.  Letting them go is not the end, it is merely the beginning.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I know this post is old, but it is such a blessing to me. Thank you.

    Reply
  1. When Dreams Come True « Writing for His Glory

Leave a Reply

