• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,987 hits
  • Post Days

    May 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Goodbye Sugar

For the past month, I have been attempting to get sugar out of my diet.   (I say attempting because it’s not exactly the easiest thing in the world.)  Some good friends of mine gave up sugar and it has made a HUGE difference in their heath.  They have been educating me on the dangers of sugar and the nasty stuff you will find in regular, store bought, processed foods and slowly but surely turning me into a heath nut.  Even though I began to made better food choices here and there, was conscious of the junk I was eating and what it was doing to my body, in my sugar addicted mind, there was NO WAY IN HEAVEN I was going to give up sugar.  I mean, I have a huge sweet tooth, I’m a chocoholic, how could I give up sugar?  (When my friends first told me that they didn’t eat ANY sugar, I thought they were nuts.  Yes, I did.)

Over the past few months the idea of giving up sugar was slowly beginning to not sound so crazy.  Last month I finally decided to cut MOST sugar out of my diet, aka, not have it during the week, but allow for it on weekends.  After a couple weeks of doing this, I began to notice what sugar was doing to me.  During the week I felt great, I had tons of energy, I was sleeping really well and just felt awesome.  When the weekend rolled around and I had that bowl of ice cream, cup cake or what ever sugary goody, the tables would suddenly turn.  I felt terrible.  I had a horrible head ache that would last for nearly the whole week, (I could not get rid of it), I felt tired, drained of energy, and had trouble sleeping.

Well, as stubborn as I am, I was finally beginning to get the message, “You need to give up sugar.”  Let me tell you, it was not an easy decision, it still isn’t.  As I begin to slowly weed out sugar from the things I eat I find myself (everyday) taking two steps forward and one step back.  Let’s face it, I’m fighting an addiction here, and addiction to sugar.  And do you have any idea how many things have sugar in them?  Everything!  Breads, mayonnaise, ketchup, milk, tuna, BBQ sauce, mustard, cereal, it’s insane!  So how in the world can I get it completely out of what I eat?  Well, I’m making everything that I can.

I’m taking baby steps, tackling each day at a time, and though I haven’t yet taken sugar out of everything, I’m working on it.  I wanted to share this new life choice I’m making and take you along on my journey.  It’s not going to be easy, but know I have a support group cheering me on helps me more than you know. 🙂  I shall keep you all informed on how my battle with sugar goes!

Have any of you made a similar choice?  Any of you want to?  What do you do to stay healthy?

P.S.  Check out this awesome blog for sugar free recipes and more!  http://outofmybondage.wordpress.com/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Daniel

     /  May 18, 2012

    I’ve made a similar health choice. 😉

    Reply
  2. godsgirl95

     /  May 18, 2012

    I am so proud of you, Laura!!!

    My family hasn’t eaten sugar in…..several years. Yep, it is true! Now, we do currently have some things in the house due to birthdays, but they are the best organic sugar stuffs we can get. Special occasion things only 🙂
    But do not fret, my girl! There are awesome alternatives! Honey, Raw Honey, Maple Syrup, Dates, Sucanat(now this is still sugar, but in the most unrefined form. Still contains the molasses.), and Stevia are what we use.
    If you ever have questions or anything, e-mail us! We’ve learned a lot on this journey, and will help in any way we can.

    Oh, and by the way…go buy yourself some Jocolate Lara bars. Believe me, they help with the chocolate longings…..

    Reply
    • Thank you GG! I’ll be sure to e-mail you with questions!

      Oo, good note with the Jocolate Lara bars. I’ve figured out how to satisfy my vanilla ice cream craving, I just needed something for a chocolate craving. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Tuna?! How in the world does a can of fish have sugar in it?? I know so many other things you wouldn’t think of contain sugar or turn to sugar in our bodies :(. I’ve wanted to make this change too, but I’m really chicken (er, no pun intended. Lol.). I have no idea how to cook or feed my family without using some of those products that contain sugar. Ketchup, salad dressings, pre-packaged seasonings. And mac-n-cheese is a mom’s lifesaver! Argh!

    Reply
    • Okay, maybe not tuna, but in other weird things you would not expect yes. I’m learning you really have to read labels, and sugar shows up on most of them.
      I understand the feeling! I’m working with my mom and we are both exploring new and healthy ways to cook for the family without sugar. If you like to experiment in the kitchen, it can be really fun. 🙂 (Yes, mac-n-cheese is a lifesaver. If I discover an easy as mac-n-cheese kid friendly no-sugar recipe I shall defiantly share it here for you!)

      Reply
      • Daniel

         /  May 21, 2012

        Actually.. some tuna does have added sugars .. high fructose corn syrup and other sweeteners are added to the strangest things.

  4. Good goal. 🙂 Don’t forget some sugars in foods are natural, like fructose! Share the yummy recipes you find on this journey. 😉

    Reply
  5. godsgirl95

     /  May 21, 2012

    *grins* Ice cream is actually an easy one to do. You got a blender? Get milk and frozen bananas and you have vanilla ice cream or milkshakes, depending on how thick you get it. Add other frozen fruit for more flavors, carob or organic non-sweetened coco powder for chocolate ice cream/shakes! Alexis and I have one every morning.

    You really need to come visit us now – we don’t cook with ANYTHING that has sugar in it. At all. 😀

    Reply
    • Daniel

       /  May 21, 2012

      Ah. Yes. That smoothie method is one of my favorites. =D

      Reply
      • godsgirl95

         /  May 21, 2012

        My sister was sitting beside me when I read that and she said, “Oh Good! You are a believer too!!!” XD

        It is so encouraging knowing your family is health minded in the same way mine is 🙂

        I’m really hoping your mom makes that ice cream at the Workshop again if she is there 😀

      • Daniel

         /  May 21, 2012

        *laughs*well.. I’ve been a health guy for.. several years. Physical trainer and stuff. Most of my family are health coaches and stuff. XD one might say we are nerdy about health.

  6. godsgirl95

     /  May 22, 2012

    @Daniel: Health nerds are epic people B-)

    Reply
  1. Sweet dreams, brought to you by the fortune cookie « Year of the Detox
  2. Week 1: a sugar free balanced life « Life in Harmony and Balance

Leave a Reply

