• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 34,069 hits
  • Post Days

    February 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    272829  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Your Choice: How to Stay in a Good Mood

One morning last week I woke up on the wrong side of the bed.  You know those mornings.  The alarm goes off and you feel as if you’ve only slept for a few minutes.  It’s raining, everything just looks gray.  You’re down, everything and everyone bothers you.  You just feel down in the dumps for no apparent reason.  The sad part was I didn’t want to feel better, I wanted to wallow in my own self-pity.  Why?  Did it make me feel any better?  No, it just made me feel worse.  So why?  I had swallowed a lie created to ensnare my emotions.

Emotion

Emotion (Photo credit: rexquisite)

When we are in a bad mood, our Flesh is at war with the Holy Spirit that indwells us.  Satan feeds us the lie that we can’t changed how we’re feeling, it’s just part of life, part of human emotion, part of not getting enough sleep last night.  But the Holy Spirit is telling us that we can changed how we feel.  Emotions are just emotions, they don’t dictate how we are going to live.  If we let ourselves be led by the swing of our emotions we surrender before the battle has even started.  I know, when we wake up on the wrong side of the bed the last thing we feel like doing is trying to feel all happy.  We forget that even though it might be raining, the sun is still shinning behind the clouds, and we feel too down to try and rise above them.

As I was sinking into this mindset, a little voice, the softest of whispers, spoke to my heart.  A ray of sun, just a pin prick, found it’s way through the gray and illuminated the truth.  I saw the lie I had accepted and what it was doing to me.  It wasn’t just sapping my emotions, it was sapping my joy, my praise.  Let’s face it, when we are down, do we want to praise God?  Do we still feel His joy?  No.  But that doesn’t mean we can’t.  Suddenly I was overwhelmed with who God is and what He had done, and was doing for me.  His love, His mercy, His grace and His gift of Salvation.  The task He had called me to, the mission He had given me.  Every piece of Him in my life shone out to me in an instant.

In that moment I realized something; if God has given me His grace, loved me unconditionally, poured out His mercy on me and given me the gift of salvation through the death of His son, me, the chief of all sinners, if He has done all this and more, and continues to do so, then I have no right, no reason to be in a bad mood.  That truth was so liberating, I had to laugh at myself and praise God for His grace.  There I was, mopping around because life was so hard, or I just didn’t feel good, and there beside me, patiently waiting, was the God of all creating whispering in my ear, “I’m here, I love you, it really isn’t as bad as all that.”

Sure I have my moments and I know times of testing are just around the corner, but I know the truth now, no longer will I accept Satan’s lies and let him rob me of my joy or my desire to praise my awesome God.   We are in a battle, every moment of every day.  The last thing Satan wants is for us to be joyfully going about our lives and praising God and following Him even a midst tribulations.  He wants to keep us from being joyful, from praising God, but we must fight him, we must not let him win.  Our God  is greater, our God is higher than any other.  Our God has already won.

I finally understand another piece of the bigger picture of being a Christian.  People think we’re suppose to be happy all the time.  No, not “happy” as the world defines it, but joyful, praising our God.  We might not be “happy” every moment of everyday, but we can choose what we are going to do when we’re not “happy”.  Will we give into the lies of Satan?  Or will we remember how amazing God is, how much He loves us and what He did for us?

God’s joy is ours, and if we remember Him when we’re feeling low, nothing can take that way.  Next time you’re in a bad mood, choose to praise God despite how you are feeling, I assure you, if your heart is right, your emotions will follow.

My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed: I will sing and give praise. ~Psalm 57:7

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

