• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,674 hits
  • Post Days

    December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Aesthetic Statement

School is over!  Today was the last day and this is the last thing I wrote for it.

My professor wanted us to write an Aesthetic Statement for our portfolio of work.  The statement could be about  what we wrote in class, why we wrote it, what inspired us, things about us as writers or all of the above.  I took the more, what inspires me and why I wrote those stories approach.  So here is my Aesthetic Statement as a writer.

 

 ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

That ominous question, “Why do you write what you write?”  It’s hard not to dread that question.  Why do I write what I write?  The answer seems so simple in my mind, but when I try to put the answer into words, the right words escape me.  To answer the question “Why do you write,” I’d have to tell you a story about a little girl who despised words and who grew up and suddenly fell in love with them.  I can’t talk about my writing without bringing this story up because it is so apart of the reason I write I cannot separate the two.

It’s hard to believe that at one time I thought of words as my enemy, but I did.  Dyslexia was the culprit to this, it made the words play tricks on me, but even through all my struggles with reading and writing, little did I know that Someone I couldn’t see was slowly beginning to mold and shape me into a writer.  I believe with all my heart that Jesus Christ made me and called me to be a writer.  I like to call myself the walking contradiction, God took a little girl who had vowed she didn’t need to learn to read, and made her a wielder of words. For some time when I first started writing, I struggled with deciding what kind of fiction I was going to write, but God already knew.  On October 9th 2006 when I was 15 years old I opened my Bible to Isaiah 30:8 and through it, God told me what He wanted me to write.  “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”

So when people ask me why I write, this is what I tell them.  To bring the hope that Christ gave me, to show them they are never alone, that they can look on tomorrow, on the time to come, with hope because once, Christ came to this earth out of love for us, died and rose again to conquer death and give us life.  I want to give my readers a glimpse of this love, of this hope, and to give them a piece.  I want to show them the miracle of God’s love, and the wonder and beauty in everything He has created.

This is why I wrote “Angel Wings”, “By Morning” and my novels.  Christ gave me His love, and hope, so that I might share it with others.  “Angel Wings” paints a picture of child-like faith in the face of fear.  It illustrates the love Christ has for us, and shows we are never truly alone.  “By Moring” gives hope even unto death because for the believer, Christ paid the price, conquered death, and we need no longer fear the grave.  “A Little Imagination” is a play on our God given imagination, the wonder it can create, and worlds it can take you to.

Why do I write what I write?  What inspired me?  My faith; the love Christ showed me, the hope He gives me each and every day and the awesome wonder of His creation and imagination.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I am glad you took that class, because of the writings that came out of it that you shared with us. 🙂 This is a great… summary… of God’s calling and your mission. Love it.

    Reply
  2. That was wonderful.

    *hugs*
    ~GG

    Reply
  3. Pippin

     /  December 16, 2011

    Amen, sister.

    ~Pip

    Reply
  4. storygirl308

     /  December 16, 2011

    Thank you Sarah, GG and Pip. 🙂

    I sat at the computer thinking about what to write for the longest time, I wasn’t sure how much to put in it or how far I wanted to go. But in the end, and think Someone else got a hold of it and put in what He wanted. 😉

    When I read it to my mom she looked at me and said, “And you turned this in? Wow.” Her reaction was awesome. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

