• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,773 hits
  • Post Days

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Stephen of Scarborough (Part Twenty-Six)

Ieuan stared at me, shock clearly evident on his face.  “Did anyone see?”  He stepped towards the door, I blocked his way.

“No John, no one could have followed me.  You forget, I was only outlawed, no price has been placed on my head.”

“Not yet.”

I laughed, “You haven’t changed.  Still just as suspicious as ever.  Are you not even the smallest bit pleased to see me John Little?”

Ieuan looked at me, his face unreadable, “You shouldn’t call me that.”

“Why not?  It is the English of your name is it not?”

Ieuan humphed, “English, yes, but I am no English man.”

“Fair enough,” I grinned.  Slowly, a smile crept up the corners of Ieuan’s mouth, he laughed and enveloped me in a bear hug.

“It is good to see you Stephen.”

I returned the embrace, “That it is my friend.  Tell me, how has the shire faired in the last six years?”

“Trade’s been good, but the taxes are ever increasing.  I’m not sure how we’re going to survive the King’s war campaign.  The tax collectors have gathered every spare penny from even the poorest pocket, and then some.”   

I looked around the shop, the walls were covered with various tools of the carpenter trade.  “It looks as if you’ve done quite well for yourself despite circumstances.  Does your son work with you?”

Ieuan leaned against the work table, “Aye, I do well enough.  Andras ran off to London, he got the notion into his head to join the King’s crusade.  After Elaine died, he’s just been looking for an excuse to leave.”

I frowned.  I disagreed with the new King Richard’s love of war, and I feared it would all end in needless bloodshed, but I didn’t voice this to Ieuan.

“Some king,” I murmured.  “Perhaps England’s better off without him.”

“He’s a better choice than his brother,” Ieuan pointed out.  Obviously he heard me. 

“Bad and worse.”

Ieuan coughed, “Now then, you haven’t answered my question.  What are you doing here?”

“I’m going to take back my place in the Locksley house.”

“Still just as ambitious as ever.  I suppose you’ve come to me then to help you reform the band?”

I blink, “What?”

Ieuan chuckled, “You’re really not that hard of a man to figure Stephen.  Also, knowing your history and being a part of it helps a little,” he winked.

“So then, where are they?”

“Hum, let me think.  Thomas is still working as a thatcher, haven’t seen Roy in nearly two years.  Geoffrey’s settled down, has a beautiful wife and three little youngsters.  Simon’s been everywhere, worked here with me a few month back, lives in Nottingham now.  And then Peter and David are foresters.  Moving up in the ranks too from what I hear.  I see then now and again, doing quite well for themselves.”

“Hmm,” I scratched my chin.

“You know, they mention you.”

I looked up, “Peter and David?”

“All of the lads.  When I see them, first thing they ask is if I’ve had word from you.  I don’t doubt they’re still loyal to you Stephen, but what do you plan to do?  Call them away from the good lives they’ve made for themselves, back into the forest to be hunted like animals?”

“I have to do something.”

“Aye, I suppose you do.”

There was a long pause.”

Ieuan sighed, “I’ll right.  Count me in.”

“Into what?”

“Into whatever you’re scheming.  Heaven knows I won’t be able to stay out of if even if I wanted to, so I’m just saying it right now.  Count me in.”

“Thank you Ieuan.”

“Ah, don’t be thanking me, I’ll most likely regret it by morning.”

I grinned, “Then it’s time to spread the word, the hood has returned.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Really good job. your reviling just the right amount and keeping me guessing. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Bad and worse. YAY! I meant to get some anti-Richard stuff into my book, but it didn’t really fit. Glad it’s showing up somewhere. *doesn’t like Richard*

    Reply
  3. storygirl308

     /  October 23, 2010

    @Garret: Thank you. I think I’m getting better at it. 😉

    @Nai: I don’t like him either. When I really started digging and researching him I was rather shocked. That’s just about the only thing I liked about the new Robin Hood movie, it showed more of Richard’s true colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

