• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,674 hits
  • Post Days

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Heart of Hope: The End (for now)

October 9th 2006 began a journey that changed my life.  I began working on a story that God put on my heart to tell, a story about finding hope in hopeless times.  On that day I embraced God’s calling for my life and have never looked back.  Now, four years, seven months, four weeks, four days and 63,000 words later, draft II of that novel is complete!  Though I still have at least one more draft to go, the hard labor, the countless hours, the frustrating days of pounded my head on the wall over this draft are done!

What am I going to do now?  Do it again!  Yep.  After all, I am a writer and that’s what I do. 🙂  But first, I’m going to tell you about this novel, my first novel.  It’s title is…. *drum roll*…….

Heart of Hope. 

And this is what it’s all about.    

Heart of Hope is the allegorical story of a young girl learning to trust God and find hope in Him through the darkest of days.  It is a 63,700 word fantasy novel, written from the depths of my heart.  The story takes place in a world I created, loosely basted off the area in which I live, (Washington State, the north-western side).  The heroine is named for my lifelong friend whom I’ve known (literally) forever.  (Love you Avie! 🙂 )  Here is the synopsis;  (Note: Yes, the name’s are different then what I put in the clips, and that is because I was keeping them secret until now.)

  When a stranger’s arrival in Arcana throws Avalyn into a world of danger and mystery, hope is the last thing she feels, as everything she knows begins to fall apart.  Her mother taken from her and her home no longer safe, Avalyn and her cousin Esten embark on a journey to reclaim their lost peace.  But what started out as a mission to bring back her mother becomes a quest to stop an evil from spreading across Arcana and devouring everything good in its wake.  Avalyn joins the mysterious stranger as the only remaining way to save her mother and return to the life she once had.  As her journey unfolds and darkness advances, Avalyn realizes that there is more going on than she first suspected.  She begins to wonder if there is any glimmer of hope, no matter how faint, left in a darkening world.  Can Avalyn learn to find courage and trust?  Can she rise above a heavy heart and go on?  Or will she give in to despair, letting her destiny slip away?

(copyright Laura Jenkins)

There you have it. 🙂 

What am I going to do now?  Like I said, do it again!  I’m going to begin outlining my next novel  (or two novels) in the next few weeks.  Other plans are… get a job, (yep, time to head into the working life) and figure out what I want to do for collage.  I took last year off so I could finish Heart of Hope and now it’s done, so it’s time to think about school. 

Other stuff:

I leave for Kansas this Thursdays!  I’m so excited!  I’ll be taking LOTS of pictures and will post them when I get back. 🙂

I have a lot of plans for the blog this summer.  I’m going to begin a series on character development that I am super excited about, (I love character development). Also, finish up Stephen of Scarborough.  (I even have plans for the next series after SoS.)  🙂

And…. I’ve been working on Connect The Dots articles, the next instilment on that blog should be up by the end of the month.   

Keep your eyes open for upcoming post and please subscribe to receive e-mail updates!

God bless and thanks for reading,
~Laura

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Wow, congratulations! 😀

    Oh, yes, pictures please! I’m not able to go so I need pictures if I’m to survive listening to everyone rave about it on the OYAN forum. 😀 XD Have fun!

    Reply
  2. Nairam

     /  June 9, 2010

    Congrats, Laura!! Funny enough, I needed to read that this morning. I’ve been all torn about not doing Etched in Black and things…reminded me, I guess, of what’s important. EiB can wait, I think. I’ve got a lifetime here. 🙂

    Also, I thought this was interesting: I started what would become FoL in 2006 too! I call its “real” b-day as September 2, 2008, but the two years before that still count. Kind of like when the baby’s in the womb. 😀

    Also, can’t wait to see you Friday!! Though me being me, I’ll most likely be a little freaked out and a lot quiet. 😛

    Reply
    • I’m glad is was able to help Nai. 🙂

      Yes. HoH “started” a year or so before, but Oct. 6 ’06 was when I started outlining and writing it for real.

      I know what you mean! But I’m sure it won’t last long. 😉 🙂

      Reply
  3. Laura you constantly inspire and motivate me! CONGRATULATIONS – you worked so hard! It wasn’t always easy, as your blog posts testify – but you have now been through this journey and can encourage others. (2 Cor. 1:4)
    Of course the journey isn’t quite over… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

