• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,773 hits
  • Post Days

    January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Writing by Faith (Part 2)

I know this is late… but here it is, finally. 

__________________________________________________________________

The fantasy dilemma: 

When it comes to writing your faith, fantasy is one of the hardest genres.  Fantasy is all about magic, how it influences the world and the people who use it.  We all know that there are fantasy books out there that are fine and others you want to steer clear of.  If you are a Christian and you write fantasy, there are fine lines that shouldn’t be crossed.   If you’re like me and fantasy is your niche, and you’re wondering, how do you keep it in a faith basted standard, here is what I discovered.

 Magic: The Big M – What is it about this little word when it comes to Christianity?  Well first of all, in Exodus 22:18 God tells the Israelites, “Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live.”  (Sorceress/er in other translations.)  Umm, if God said that I’m guessing it’s bad.  He goes on to say, “Do not practice divination or sorcery” (Leviticus 19:26), “Do not turn to mediums or seek out spiritists, for you will be defiled by them.  I am the LORD you’re God” (Leviticus 19:31), “I will set my face against the person who turns to mediums and spiritists to prostitute himself by following them, and I will cut him off from his people” (Leviticus 20:6). God ends with saying, all mediums and spiritists must be put to death by stoning, “their blood will be on their own heads.” 

Second, where do these people get their power?  They’re not called spiritists for nothing.  From spirits, aka demons, aka Satan.

This is the reason why I am against books/movie such as Harry Potter.  The good guys are witches when God is very clear that witches ARE NOT GOOD! 

Now, there are different kinds of “magic”.  There is the fairy tale magic that is purely mythical.  There are miracles, (but we all know they’re not magic.)  Then there is real magic, and that is altogether evil.

(I know what you’re thinking right about now.  What about Gandalf in The Lord of The Rings?  Or the Deep Magic and the wizard Coriakin in Narnia?  Since I am here to talk about writing faith filled fantasy, not the difference between magic in well known books, I will try and cover it in another post.)

My Solution:  When I decided to write a fantasy my first decision was, I was NOT going to use magic, of any kind.  Well… I discovered how hard a thing that really was.  So this is what I did.  I have sorcery in my fantasy novels, but it is ONLY USED BY THE VILLIANS.  I DO NOT portray it as a GOOD THING.  I show it for what it really is EVIL.  (Plus it makes for an awesomely creepy villain.) 

What Else?

Elves:   Do I have elves?  Do they use magic?  Yes, I have elves, no they do not use magic, but they are “magical”, or seem magical, (after all, they are elves).

Dragons:  My dragons are very intelligent beast that can communicate in a very unique way (that is purely fantasy), and as my mentor put it when my hero asks how they do it, “They were made that way by the creator.”

Dwarves:  My dwarves are just another race and very non-magical.

Goblins:  The bad guys.  Creatures made by the “evil itself” villain as a corrupt copy of man.  

There you have it.  It took me a long time to develop it all, but here it is.  Any questions?    

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Daniel

     /  January 29, 2010

    I think you covered that very well!! I like how you explain it! 🙂 My views precisely on the subject.. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Zoe

     /  January 30, 2010

    I totally agree! The only ‘person’ in my book (Cruthu, not TMB) that has magic is Drochspior, my Satan-character. TMB won’t have any magic at all.

    …I hope you don’t mind me using your blog to contact someone :P…

    Lady Nairam: I think you mentioned that you have plans of Nottingham Castle. Are they in a file or on the Internet? Would you mind if I used them? If you comment on my blog (www.aloveofbooks.wordpress.com), I can e-mail you to get them from you. Pretty please? 😛

    Reply
    • Nairam

       /  January 30, 2010

      To Laura: I’m sorry, I wasn’t going to comment here because I don’t have anything useful to say…but still, I’ll say: good post! I’m not really into fantasy, but if I was, I would certainly take this stand! (And, who knows–I did get slightly inspired by the latest webinar! ;)) My apologies for what follows. (Hey, maybe you can use the info for your “Robin Hood” (ish) book! *hopeful*)

      Zoe,

      First off is I’m not allowed to email with people I haven’t ever met. Sorry. (Second, your blog requires a password, which I do not have…) Now–

      Huh, I don’t remember saying that! But in a way I do…but it’s complicated. REALLY complicated. Long and short of it is: Nott. Castle was demolished/fell into decay and then was built on top of. Sooo…we don’t really know EXACTLY how it was in the 12th century. (Sorry, BBC, but from my research you’ve got a LOT of it wrong.)

      I got snatches of info from this website:
      http://www.nottshistory.org.uk/gill1904/john.htm
      (for some reason, I have THAT page saved so I’m going to trust myself and say that one’s the most useful)

      Then, here’s some pictures of Nott. Castle AS IT IS TODAY (can’t be completely relied upon–though, I THINK that the stuff underground (dungeon) is pretty much the same).
      http://www.bbc.co.uk/nottingham/360/where_to_go/castle/

      Now comes the hard part. I used WorldCat, an inter-library loan service, to try and get a hold of books that could tell me more. I got one that was worth something. I’m pretty sure this is the title and author (though not positive–I lost my notebook where I wrote down all this info. *rage*): Lost Buildings of Britain, by Simon Thurley. After a quick search, it looks to me that it is on Amazon (might try library stuff too–I have no idea where you live, so.)

      To make a long story short, this building is elusive and EXCEEDINGLY annoying. Rawr. That book I mentioned does have a map of the 3 different “wards” that made up the castle and where they think the great hall and kitchen were in KING RICHARD’S time. (Oh yeah, I was walking on air.)

      That helpful?

      (so sorry, Laura! *points* She started it! 😛 >.>)

      ~Nai

      Reply
      • Nairam

         /  January 30, 2010

        Edit:
        What I said about the map…there’s only one, but it SHOWS those three different wards. Hey, it worked for me. The accompanying text was helpful as well.

  3. storygirl308

     /  January 30, 2010

    I guess I’ll let you guys info eachother like this… 😛 Don’t worry about it Nai, who knows maybe I will use the info. 🙂

    Reply
    • Nairam

       /  February 1, 2010

      If she finds it…>.< I'll try not to do that again! I did really like your post, even though I persisted in talking about ol' Nottingham. 🙂

      Reply
  4. What about Cobha?

    Reply
  5. storygirl308

     /  February 2, 2010

    Okay.

    Ah…. wow…

    What about it are you asking me?

    Reply
    • Cobha is how you have things that look like magic, but aren’t. They are not wizardry or witchcraft: they are not using demon’s power because they do not need to use demon’s power. If God designed this other world with different natural abilities, then it is the Christians in that world who should be using those powers to His glory all the more.

      Cobha is just as good to use as having a fantasy world is. Make sense? Do you agree? I couldn’t tell from your article.

      Reply
  1. 2010 in review « Writing for His Glory

Leave a Reply

