• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,994 hits
  • Post Days

    January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Stephen of Scarborough (Part Eleven)

I pressed myself as flat as possible against the ivy covered stone wall. Men shouted close by and a bell tolled the alarm. William stood beside me, back aligned with the wall, sword held in front of his face and his eyes fixed on the corner ahead.
“A run for it is the only way out I can see,” He whispered, tapping his swords’ handle with his fingers. “Question is, once we’re out, where do we go?”
“Um, what of Maud’s? They would not search there.” I said quickly avoiding William’s gaze when he looked at me.
“Maud? The kitchen maid? You’re still seeing her? Stephen, you…”
“Never mind Will,  Maud will hide us, I’m sure of it. We can lay low until sunset then escape down the coast and out of York.”
“And where to you purpose going after that?”
“Locksley.”
William frowned, “You’re an ou…”
“Search the walls!”
“Drat,” William looked up, “We need to move, somewhere.” The sound of armored began to grow louder.
“I’ve got an idea,” I said leaving the wall and heading back the way we had come. “Follow my lead.” I didn’t look back to see if William had listened, but sheathed my sword and walked into the courtyard where twelve castle guards clustered. I quickened my pace and raced up to them having my arms in the air.
“Hurry! The two men ran down this way. We tried to head them off but they got passed us! Hurry or you will not catch them!” The men stared at me and for a moment I thought the game was up. Then the man I presumed to be the leader barked,
“You heard him! Get after them!” All twelve ran passed me and ran down the corridor. William stood a little to my side and behind watching the whole display. He smiled and held out his sword,
“Well?” He said grinning, “After them!” I drew my own sword and we raced after the guards. As we rounded a corner we stopped dead in our tracks. The sheriff stood with the twelve guards, the jailer beside him, his face as red as a fresh apple.
“Oops,” I said just as they all looked towards us.
“That’s him!” The jailer screamed. William and I turned on our heels.
“Nice fool proof plan!” William shouted as we booked it up the open stone hall.
“Never said it was fool proof!” After we rounded several corners and ran up and down too many halls to count we found ourselves in the gate yard. There was freedom, only a few more passes away! An arrow clattered to the ground beside my feet, followed by three more to the side and front.
“Run! Get out!” William led the way in a head long dash to the gate. I hurried after him my feet pounding the stones. Suddenly I felt something slide threw my leg. My knee gave and I topple over. My hand clutched at my leg and I say an arrows’ feathered shaft protruding from my calf. Alarms began to sound in my brain followed by a sudden intense pain. A dark red stain spread from the arrows base and my leg grew hot. Choking back a cry I forced myself to my feet. I looked around. William? Where was William? I began to breathe in short, quick gasps, my head suddenly felt light. Nausea playing in my stomach as the pain in my leg intensified. Keep, going… can’t… stop. My body shook with adrenalin and pain, I took a step and fell. Darkness seeped in at the corners of my vision and my eye sight blurred. I heard William call my name and felt hands grasping my shoulders. Then all went dark and I knew no more.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Yeeeeeees! I love it when the hero blanks out! 😀 Well, not all the time… but then you NEVER know what’ll happen when he wakes up!!

    Reply
    • storygirl308

       /  January 11, 2010

      Me too. The whole “…and he knew no more,” thing is just awesome. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Daniel

     /  January 11, 2010

    That’s great!!! Awesome delivery on this part!! 🙂

    *wants more… as usual*

    Reply
  3. Awesome! 😀 *loves it*

    Reply
  4. musingsbymarie

     /  January 12, 2010

    I really like this. Like the others it is always great when the hero gets hurt – especcially if he blacks out!. : ) I hate it when authors get their hero hurt but act like, since he is a hero, he is superman and feels no pain at all. : )

    May I offer one suggestion? You have the time period established very well, I really feel like I am there. But the word “Drat” brought me back into the present day and didn’t lend much to the story. Just a thought.

    Reply
    • storygirl308

       /  January 12, 2010

      Thank you for that thought Marie. I see what you mean and will keep it in mind.

      Reply
  5. Lady Nairam

     /  January 13, 2010

    Cool…though I like it when the hero blanks out, it annoys me (especially in my own writing) on how to phrase it. All the ways have been used so often! But wording aside, I definitely like the effect. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

