• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,674 hits
  • Post Days

    December 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

Novel Update: Chapter Six, “In a Moment”

Chapter six is DONE!!!!!!!! YIPPY!!!!!!! It comes to eleven scenes, twenty-one (standard) pages and 7,028 words! Few! My longest chapter yet.

So LOTS of stuff happens in this chapter. It has in it- sword fights, gossiping villagers, a mysterious prisoner, a fire breathing dragon, goblins, haunting dreams and big mistakes. I thought the title, “In a Moment”,  fit perfectly, for the turning points are as follows, a hasty choice, an unexpected change, a slip of the tongue.
The Hero, (I’ll call her Ava here), has allot to deal with in this chapter, along with many choices to make.

Ava pulled at the short forest grass, ripping up handfuls then tossing them aside.  She stared at the ground, her anger slowly melting away. Why had she gotten so upset? She shook her head. She knew why, but would the others understand? Even she didn’t fully understand, she just knew that she couldn’t do it. A moving image rose up in her mind for the hundredth time since Joel first drew his sword. A hot tear rolled down Ava’s cheek as she fought her own imaginings. She squeezed her eyes shut and covered her face with her hands.
“Go away,” she whispered, “Stop.”

I’m afraid you’re going to have to make do with just that little clip. Yes it is a long chapter, but any more clips would give too much away.
I’m fairly please with how this chapter came out. I still could work a bit on the action, but it works for now. I won’t move on to chapter seven right away, in fact, I’m taking the rest of December off, (well, as “off” as I can). All I’m going to do is work on re-outlining eight and parts of seven. Then, when January rolls around I’ll be ready to tackle that chunk.

The end is coming closer, chapter twelve is in sight and I’m in the better half of the book! (Better to me anyway. 😉 ) Boy, when this novel in finished-finished I’m going to have a party! 😀

Merry Christmas!
~Laura

Previous Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. 😀 Yippee! Good job!!! I can’t wait to come to that “the book is finally finished” party – it’ll come sooner than you’ll expect. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Daniel

     /  December 8, 2009

    PARTAI!! 😛
    I would have a party cause I was done with chapter six.. 😛 XD

    SOunds awesome, Laura! This novel looks like it is going to be right up there with some of my favorites. (Which include LOTR, CON, Wilderking, and many others) 🙂

    Reply
  3. Zoe

     /  December 8, 2009

    21 tandard pages in one chapter! And I thought that someone else’s 10 pages per chapter was long!

    Reply
  4. Zoe

     /  December 8, 2009

    oops…i meant standard. 😛 I almost caught it before it was posted! (as in almost pressed the stop button before it posted)

    can I have your secret to writing long chapters? pleeeeeeease?

    Reply
  5. storygirl308

     /  December 8, 2009

    To Sarah- I hope so. 🙂

    To Daniel- I “partied” by watching The Roy Roger’s Show. 😀
    I’m glad you like the little bit that you’ve seen.

    To Zoe- (I’ve done that too.)
    I use to think ten pages was long as well.
    My secret? Hmmmm… I just added more little moments between characters, (and a few scenes to keep the conflict going).
    I guess my secret is I just found more story to tell the more I wrote/re-wrote. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Nairam

     /  December 8, 2009

    Cool beans! I’m currently procrastinating on taking editing notes for *my* chapter 6. Guess I’d better stop that. 😛 7,000 is long! I think all of FoL is going to grow when I really sit down and tackle it. I’ve decided it’s not much of an adventure story, but really a “Man Who Learned Better” in adventure-style clothing. 😉 So I’m adding more character scenes. Not worrying so much about dragging the plot down, because the characters are the focus. Yippee (more Robin-Marian arguments galore. Sigh. You two. *shakes head*)! Longest chapter I ever wrote was 9,000 words. That is the reason FoL is 13 chapters. I split that one in half! 😛

    Anyway, good job! Halfway there! Do you think you’ll have to go through and edit again? I’m always finding things to fix. Critiques point out others. I’m working on Draft IV. It’s far different from I already, and drifting away from IIIb! (contest draft. I change my numbering when the story line gets major revision, and only add letters when it’s mostly technical junk like GRAMMAR.)

    Reply
    • storygirl308

       /  December 9, 2009

      Ya! More Robin and Marian scenes! 😀
      I never thought any of my chapters would be that long. But it’s cool because all the little moment scenes (and most of the others) that have been added are all the characters. I just had to get out of the way and let them tell the story. 🙂

      I want to go through it at least once more. There are a couple scenes in chapter one that are still rather dry, so I’ll go back and fix those. I just want to get it to a point where I can read through it and still be happy with it, (if that is possible. 😛 ) Haven’t given up hope yet though.

      Reply
      • Lady Nairam

         /  December 9, 2009

        My experience with read-throughs and edits on FoL so far have been that I *am* happy with it…I can just see where it can be better. And, strangely enough, this excites me. I’m especially looking forward to delving into this draft. I really hope to start fleshing everything out–FoL relies very heavily on dialogue, I’ve realized. More details, Nai! 🙂 Hopefully I can break into a can of polish this time, too.

        Here’s to editing! It’s a pain, but imagine where our stories would stay without it!

        ~Nai

      • storygirl308

         /  December 10, 2009

        Here’s to editing! It’s a pain, but imagine where our stories would stay without it!

        Hear hear! 🙂

      • Daniel

         /  December 10, 2009

        I now have to edit my NaNo..

      • Have fun. 😛 😉

      • Nairam

         /  December 12, 2009

        Eeek! Did it again! *freaks* ^ My comments are defying the law of gravity!

      • Daniel

         /  December 12, 2009

        What’dya mean ‘too Daniel’? <.<

      • Nairam

         /  December 13, 2009

        Typo of “to”? Laura said to have fun, and I said indeed. (At which Robin came and said, “you used that word again…” and etc..)

  7. Lady Nairam

     /  December 11, 2009

    Indeed.

    (Yes, Robin, I know. Be quiet.)

    Reply
  8. Nairam

     /  December 12, 2009

    My comment went someplace odd. Up above your reply, Laura! O.o That was too Daniel. 😛

    Reply
  9. storygirl308

     /  December 13, 2009

    That was weird. I don’t know why it went there.

    Reply
  10. storygirl308

     /  December 13, 2009

    Oh, no. Now mine did it.

    Reply
  11. Daniel

     /  December 13, 2009

    Humm.. I’m not sure why it is doing that.. odd.

    Reply
  12. Daniel

     /  December 13, 2009

    Weird, indeed. O_o

    Reply
  13. lilacandivy

     /  December 15, 2009

    Laura, if you go to ‘extras’ for your theme on your dashboard you can add falling snow to your blog. =) =P It can be a little distracting but hey, Christmas only comes once a year! 🙂

    Reply
    • lilacandivy

       /  December 15, 2009

      yikes, I see what you mean about the posts jumping. Makes me feel like they’re rabbits or something…

      Reply
    • storygirl308

       /  December 15, 2009

      I saw that and had it on for a little while, but it just didn’t fit. 🙂 Thanks for the heads up though Sarah.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

