• The Writer


    Hello! My name is Laura, welcome to my blog! I write weird stories, collect dragon plushies and stay up too late with my nose in a book. I am a wife, mom and child saved by grace. My hope is that you find encouragement here or at least a smile or too.
    God bless!

  • “Now go, write it before them in a table, and note it in a book that it may be for the time to come forever and ever.”
    ~Isaiah 30:8.

  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,674 hits
  • Post Days

    July 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Quotes

    We have come from God, and inevitably the myths woven by us, though they contain error, will also reflect a splintered fragment of the true light, the eternal truth that is with God. Indeed only by myth-making, only by becoming 'sub-creator' and inventing stories, can Man aspire to the state of perfection that he knew before the Fall. Our myths may be misguided, but they steer however shakily towards the true harbour, while materialistic 'progress' leads only to a yawning abyss and the Iron Crown of the power of evil.
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "The only just literary critic," he concluded, "is Christ, who admires more than does any man the gifts He Himself has bestowed."
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    “Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don't we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we're partisans of liberty, then it's our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
    ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    "Writers who see by the light of their Christian faith will have, in these times, the sharpest eye for the grotesque, for the perverse, and for the unacceptable. To the hard of hearing you shout, and for the almost-blind you draw large and startling figures."
    ~Flannery O'Connor

    You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.
    ~Arthur Polotnik

    Words - so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.
    ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

    "There are forms of insanity that condemn people to hear voices against their will, but as writers we invite ourselves to hear voices without relinquishing our hold on reality or our right to control."
    ~Writing Fiction by Janet Burroway

    Christians have sometimes been suspicious of stories, because they really can influence you. If you read the Twilight novels once a month for a year, I think you'd be a different human afterward—and not a sparkly one.
    ~Nate Wilson

A Little Bit of Me

     Who am I? Good question. I’m a lover of words, a creator of worlds, a wizard of fantasy, a book worm. I love to write, you could say I am in love with the written word. Cornelie Fanke said in Inkheart “The written word is a powerful thing,” and she wasn’t just kidding. For me writing, like reading, is a way to escape the craziness of everyday life. Except, I get to create where I go and the heroes I meet. For some, creating another world is easy, for others impossible. Welcome to the writers mind, we imagine the impossible and turn it into a story, a doorway into a land of unspeakable wonders.
     Growing up I had a really hard time learning to read. I’d struggled over the simplest words and gave myself headaches reading about the mat that the cat sat on. My mom, who home schooled all five of us kids, never gave up on me. Over and over again she would help me sound out the word I read perfectly the day before but couldn’t remember then, until I understood it. Even when I would cry and tell her that it was too hard and I couldn’t do it, she patently kept on. Because of how hard it was for me to learn to read I hated books, I hated anything I had to read and found numerous ways to work around it. My mom kept telling me about the adventures I was missing out on in books. Whenever she said that I would shrug my shoulders and say, “What’s the point of sitting and doing nothing, reading about adventures when I can go outside and live them?” My mom never argued with my answer but let me go outside to play pirates or whatever the game of the day was with my friends.
     It wasn’t until several years (I was about nine or ten,) later I realized she was right. (Why does it take us kids so long to finaly see that our parents were/are right?) a friend introduced me to a book series and I decided to give it a try. What do you think happened? After years of keeping it shut I opened the door to the world of books. I suddenly found myself in an Indian village in the Mid-west, a British frigate sailing in unexplored waters, back during the Revolutionary war fighting for America’s freedom, and I fell in love with the written word. For a while I felt a bit of regret for hiding myself from the wonderful world of stories, but I quickly made up for it.
     Once I discovered the worlds and the places I could travel to through books I began to make up my own. I didn’t start writing them down until a few years later when I and a good friend of mine started to co-write a story together. (We didn’t finish it and ended up moving on to works of our own.) Even though it was never finished it started a spark in me, a spark that quickly spread into what some call a “writers itch”. Let me tell you, once you get that itch and scratch it for a bit it never goes away.
     So now here I am. I like to consider myself a writer, even though I’m currently unpublished, but you don’t have to be published to be a writer. All you need is a love for the written word, imagination, confidence, and a fire for stories that only a writer can possess. As Grace Paley puts it, “You become a writer because you need to become a writer—nothing else.”

In Christ
<><
Laura

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. lilacandivy

     /  July 29, 2009

    Thanks for sharing, Laura. =) Looking back now it’s neat to see how God has developed your passion for writing! With a bit of help from yours truly, of course. 😉

    Reply
  2. lilacandivy

     /  July 29, 2009

    btw, this is Sarah. And I have a grasshopper as my logo because of Isaiah 40:22, just a reminder to me how insignificant the things in my life are and how awesome God is for paying attention to me! =)

    Reply
  3. storygirl308

     /  July 29, 2009

    I knew it was you. =)
    Yes, God is awesome how He works and lives in our lives.

    As for me sharing, you’re welcome, and thank you for lighting the match. =)

    In Christ
    Laura

    Reply
  4. You remind me of myself, long ago…and today.
    You have the gift…the connection of spirit, heart and soul.
    It is truly a blessing, when the peace between all parts of yourself settle as gently as dew and the quiet calm within glides across the pages…the words of God.
    Spoken through the Spirit to the spirit for the purpose of igniting the spirit of all others…

    1 Corinthians 2:13 This is what we speak, not in the words taught us by human wisdom but in the words taught by the Spirit, expressing spiritual truths in spiritual words.

    God, has told the story…
    He is asking you to write it.
    Find the silence…in which to persistently listen.

    Hope your foot is well, I will pray for you.
    God Bless…you and yours.
    And thank you for your encouraging transparencies.

    Reply
    • storygirl308

       /  November 16, 2009

      Thank you very much for your comment! (and my foot is very well.) 🙂

      God Bless,
      ~Laura

      Reply

Leave a Reply

